Growing Pains

This was the year I wrenched myself open
A mind that tread down familiar roads
Found new neural pathways
A heart that denied herself everything
Felt emotions in their fullest capacities
This was the year I brought down the walls
Brick by ancient brick
With bloodied hands
On bruised knees
The desire to rebuild ever present – even now
This was the year I stared into the pit and dug out all of the rot with my bloodied hands
But it was also the year I let the light in
And the year I learned that nourishment can come from tears
The fight is far from over
The battle was barely won
But this is the year I remain open

Leave a Reply

