Sometimes, I Sink

In the wake of my worst days, my tenacity and progress feel like props
bright
convincing
and two dimensional
Inadequacy and insincerity settle over me like dust
And only the overwhelming conviction that I acted like a fool is strong enough to blow them away
In the wake of my worst days, I’m aware of how I’ve failed to fill up that you-sized crater
I circle its perimeter
gaze into its depths
and chastise myself for its enormity
Compassion is muted
Self assurance is hard to come by
And the “old me” is front and center – just how she likes it
In the wake of my worst days, I feel beaten down
and fragile
tired and bone weary
(wrapped up in my ego)
And the only thing that gives me peace is the bittersweet reminder that the work only ends when you’re dead

Leave a Reply

