Seismic Shifts

Your abandonment carved anxieties and fears miles deep into the smooth surface of my mind and my heart
The rupture, pulsating and alive, released a pain so raw that all I could feel was the primal need to survive
So, I put one foot in front of the other
Believing that I was forging a new path but actually learning how to balance between a precipice and solid ground
I stayed on my toes for years until adulthood appeared like a gale and forced me to pick a side
I landed on solid ground when I acknowledged that my pain wasn’t a series of trenches but a canyon
Deep, twisting, layered
But beautiful enough to inspire strength and renewal

Leave a Reply

