Saltwater

When I was a child, I loved the taste of saltwater
I looked forward to loose teeth and a bloody gap
for the sake of swishing around something that felt
primeval
and
essential
and
raw
A miniature version of something
grand and mysterious in the caverns of my mouth
but with no more baby teeth left to lose
the only bloody gaps I have left
are the unanswered questions my heart has decided
to stow away
and in the heat of this southern summer
they yearns for the holistic remedy of my childhood
the stinging
cleansing
thing that leaves something purer in its wake

Leave a Reply

